Every year from 2019, the FTA Prize judges are the center of attention, until the winners are announced. Not only because they’re some of the fashion industry’s most interesting powerhouses, but also, and mainly, because the fate of 24 emerging Arab designers lies in their hands.

This year, the level has gone up a notch. On 26 October, Ruba Abu-Nimah (Creative Director of Tiffany & Co), Yoon Ahn (Fashion Designer and creator of Yoon Ambush), Imran Amed (Founder and Chief Executive of The Business of Fashion), Gherardo Felloni (Creative Director of Roger Vivier), Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim (Creative Directors of Oscar de la Renta), Guram Gvasalia (Creative Director of Vetements), Alex Israel (Multimedia Artist and Eyewear Designer), Michèle Lamy (Co-Founding Partner and Managing Director of Art/Furniture Owenscorp), Camille Miceli (Creative Director of Pucci), Amina Muaddi (Shoe Designer), Zuhair Murad (Fashion Designer), Pierpaolo Piccioli (Creative Director of Valentino), Rachid Mohamed Rachid (Chairman of Balmain and Valentino), Carine Roitfeld (Founder and Director of CR Fashion Book/CR Men and Founder of Carine Roitfeld Paris), Samuel Ross (Fashion Designer and Creative Director at A-COLD-WALL), Olivier Rousteing (Creative Director of Balmain), Remo Ruffini (CEO of Moncler), Lorraine Schwartz (Jewelry Designer), Charaf Tajer (Creative Director of Casablanca), Arnaud Vaillant and Sébastien Meyer (Creative Directors of Coperni), Iris Van Herpen (Fashion Designer) and Erin Walsh (Stylist), will be responsible for the selection of 2022’s winning designers across six categories: Evening Wear, Ready-to-Wear, Accessories, Jewelry, Debut Talent and Guest Country (Turkey).

This year, the twenty-four finalists have been shortlisted from over a thousand applicants from across the MENA region by FTA Advisory Board members including industry heavyweights such as Adam Baidawi, Bryan Boy, Edgardo Osorio, Erdem Moragliou, Gaia Repossi, Gabriella Karefa-Johnson, Imruh Asha, Mary Alice Malone, Olivier Theyskens, Pierre M’Pele, Piergiorgio Del Moro, Tiffany Godoy, Alex Fury, Carmen Busquets, Fabio Piras, Nina Garcia, Patti Wilson, Sarah Andelman, Sara Maino, Saif Mahdhi, Sofia Guellaty and Wayman & Micah.

The Miu Miu Club
The Advisory Board and Jury members will be present in Doha, Qatar to meet the 24 finalists during their collection showcase on 26 October. The Jury will deliberate and announce the winners on the same evening, during the FTA 2022 Awards Ceremony at the National Museum of Qatar, under the patronage and presence of Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser. The ceremony will feature a headline music performance presented by Miu Miu. The brand will also be hosting the Miu Miu Club at the FTA after party following the awards ceremony.

The FTA 2022 winners will receive a financial prize and a personalized one-year mentoring program delivered by FTA’s retail partners and a global network of industry professionals, covering a variety of topics relevant to the business of fashion.

MATCHESFASHION will mentor the winners and carry their collections on their e-commerce platform. Harrods will mentor the Evening-Wear category winner and carry their collection in-store. Bisceter Village will offer a bespoke mentorship to each winner with a tailored program. Maison De Mode will offer winners a mentorship on sustainability and Maison Pyramide will provide winners with showroom representation during Paris Fashion Week as well as PR consultancy services.

This year FTA is proud to receive the support of its distinguished sponsors, including Qatar Duty Free as Diamond sponsors as well as Galeries Lafayette Doha through Ali Bin Ali Holding and Chopard in partnership with Alfardan Jewellery as Platinum Sponsors. Their support for FTA’s mission in nurturing emerging designers from the MENA the region is invaluable to the organization.